Skip to content

Lagos Polls: PDP wins one out of 377 councillorship seats

Despite saying it was ready to create an upset in the local government elections in Lagos, the Peoples Democratic Party has won only one councillorship seat out of 377.

In the build-up to the elections, the PDP (the major opposition party in the country and Lagos) had said it was “prepared, and Lagos residents have been expecting as the people want change.”

But in the election results announced by LASIEC, the state’s electoral body, the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) won all but two seats. 


The PDP won in Ward G, Yaba LCDA, while the Young Progressive Party (YPP) grabbed the councillorship seat in Ward D of Orile-Agege LCDA. The APC won 375 out of the 377 councilorship seats spread across the 20 LGs and 37 LCDAs. The ruling party also won all the chairmanship seats in the 20 LGAs and 37 LCDAs.

The PDP councillor-elect, Adeshola Thomas, and the YPP councillor-elect, Omotunde Abdul-Kareem, were on Tuesday presented the Certificate of Return at the LASIEC headquarters in Sabo, Yaba.

In its various forms (AD, AC, ACN), APC has held the reins of power in Lagos since 1999. Its stranglehold on the state reaches down to the grassroots.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: